Driving Without Insurance
Insurance is costly and requires a lot of paperwork so it’s no surprise that many Floridians are driving around the state without insurance. State officials have estimated that one in four Floridians don’t have auto insurance as required by law. However, driving in Florida without following insurance requirements is illegal. Failure to show proof of insurance is a serious crime that could result in the ultimate suspension or revocation of your license.
If you are cited for driving without insurance, then you may be required to pay expensive fines and lose your license for months. In addition, you will have points added to your license as a result of your ticket. With enough points added to your license it could result in your driving privileges being suspended even further. For these reasons and more, we highly encourage you to contact an experienced ticket defense attorney as soon as possible.
Ticket Defense Lawyer for Driving Without Insurance in West Palm Beach, FL
Have you been ticketed for driving without insurance in the southern Florida area? If so, it’s within your best interest to gain experienced legal counsel. Our suggestion is you contact the experienced traffic ticket attorneys at Meltzer & Bell, P.A.. With our guidance, we can help you review your legal options so you can resolve your ticket with little penalty.
Get in contact with us at (561) 500-5000 to schedule your first consultation free. At Meltzer & Bell, P.A. we will fight to protect your right to legally operate a vehicle in Florida. Meltzer & Bell, P.A. accepts clients throughout the greater West Palm Beach area including Boca Raton, Delray Beach, Boynton Beach and Jupiter.
Overview of Driving Without Insurance in FL
- What Are Florida’s Auto Insurance Requirements?
- How Much is a Ticket for Driving Without Insurance in Florida?
- What If I Was in a Car Accident and I’m Uninsured?
- Additional Resources
What Are Florida’s Auto Insurance Requirements?
In Florida, you are legally required to meet the auto insurance standards if you own a motor vehicle and plan to drive it in the state. You are obligated to file your insurance with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and it must maintain a minimum of:
- $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage; and
- $10,000 in property damage liability.
Bodily injury liability isn’t a required coverage field under Florida law, but most carriers will also offer a minimum limit of $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident. It’s recommended drivers have this since it covers damages for serious permanent injury or death others have sustained in an accident you were involved in. This can be especially important if you fear getting sued in civil court, but it’s not a required auto insurance coverage in Florida.
If you were found guilty or pleaded no guilty to DUI charges, then you will be required to maintain a $50,000 coverage for property damage, $100,000 in per-person bodily injury liability and $300,000 in per-accident bodily injury liability. These high limits must be maintained for three years post-conviction if you desire to keep your driving privileges.
Any registered vehicle in the state of Florida must be registered. Even if the vehicle is hardly operated or never used. The only way to avoid having your license suspended is to surrender your plate and registration to the local Tax Collector officer prior to cancelling your policy.
How Much is a Ticket for Driving Without Insurance in Florida?
Law enforcement reported that in 2012 they discovered that 24 percent of Florida drivers did not have insurance. In an attempt to reduce uninsured drivers, police officers have cracked down on ticketing those driving without insurance. If you are cited for failing to provide insurance, then your license will be automatically suspended for up to three years or until you provide proof of insurance.
Unfortunately, that isn’t the end to your possible consequences. You may also be required to pay a fine between of up to $150 to have your license reinstated. If it’s your second time being ticketed for driving uninsured, then the fine will be enhanced to $250. A third or subsequent ticket for driving without insurance is $500 if it’s within three years of your first offense.
What If I Was in a Car Accident and I’m Uninsured?
It’s never a good idea to drive without insurance, but the real danger is if you get involved in an accident and you’re uninsured. Florida law requires all drivers to carry insurance so you will be expected to present it to the other driver after the crash. If serious injury or death was involved, then you will be required to provide an SR22 Certificate to maintain your driving privileges. This certificate will mean higher limits for a period if you want to drive.
The other driver can also file a civil suit against you for damages they sustained due to the accident. The plaintiff may request you to pay steep medical bills, lost wages because of missed work, vehicle repair costs and more. That one event would cause you to pay thousands of dollars just to simply drive again. In the end, this can be much more costly than paying insurance premiums every month.
Florida’s Insurance Requirements – Visit the official website for the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to learn more about their insurance requirements. Access the site to learn more about the requirements for non-residents and residents, what happens when you move out of state or move to Florida and the penalties for not acquiring insurance.
Florida’s Laws for Driving Without Insurance – Visit the official website for the Florida Statutes to learn more about their laws for driving without insurance. Access the site to learn the minimums you must maintain, what coverage is required and what happens if you fail to provide proof of insurance to a police officer.
Uninsured Defense Attorney in Palm Beach County, FL
If you or someone you know has been cited for driving uninsured, then it’s within your best interest to gain lawful representation. A skilled ticket defense lawyer can assess your case and find the best legal route to resolve your ticket with little penalty. Find that attorney with Meltzer & Bell, P.A..
Our criminal defense and traffic ticket attorneys know what it takes to fight a ticket in Florida courts. Let us use our techniques and skills to help you avoid a costly fine. Call us now at (561) 500-5000 to set up your first consultation today. Meltzer & Bell, P.A. accepts clients throughout the greater Palm Beach County area and surrounding counites including Miami-Dade County, St. Lucie County, Martin County and Broward County.