If you have a CDL (commercial driver’s license) in the state of Florida and drive a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) for a living, then you know that any traffic ticket comes with serious consequences. If you are a CDL driver, you must report any conviction for a traffic offense to your employer within 30 days of the conviction.
We know that commercial drivers are held to a higher standard than others. You might be subject to disqualification of your CDL status, either on a temporary or permanent basis, depending on the type and number of traffic tickets or driving offenses on your driving record.
Attorneys for CDL Holders in Florida
If you receive a traffic citation anywhere in Florida, including in Broward County, Miami-Dade County, or Palm Beach County, then contact an experienced traffic ticket attorney who fights to protect the CDL holder who drives a commercial motor vehicle for a living. We understand the procedures used in the various courtrooms throughout Florida.
From our office in Fort Lauderdale, we represent CDL holders in the traffic courts throughout Broward County at the Central Courthouse in Fort Lauderdale, FL, the County Civil North Regional Courthouse in Deerfield Beach, County Civil South Regional Courthouse in Hollywood, and County Civil West Regional Courthouse in Plantation, FL.
From our office in West Palm Beach, FL, we represent the drivers of commercial motor vehicles (CMV) in Palm Beach County at the Main Courthouse in West Palm Beach, the West County Courthouse in Belle Glade, the North County Courthouse in Palm Beach Gardens, and the South County Courthouse in Delray Beach.
Our attorneys also represent, however, commercial drivers in throughout the State of Florida and are easily accessible and responsive to the needs of our clients.
Call (561) 500-5000 today.
Major Traffic Violations for the CDL Holder in Florida
If your traffic violation is classified as “major,” then your CDL will be suspended for one (1) year, for a first offense or three (3) years if you were transporting hazardous materials. For a second major violation, your CDL could be revoked for life. In some cases, you might be eligible for reinstatement of your CDL after ten (10) years.
Major violations that can impact your CDL include:
- driving under the influence (DUI);
- refusal of a breath or blood test when under suspicion of DUI;
- having an alcohol concentration higher than 0.04% when operating a commercial vehicle;
- leaving the scene of an accident (hit and run); or
- using the commercial vehicle to commit a felony.
For non-major offenses, a first offense will not result in your having your CDL license revoked. A second conviction for a serious traffic violation within three years of the first conviction, however, will result in a 60-day disqualification. A third serious violation within three years will result in a 120-day disqualification.
Even if the CDL holder is driving his or her personal vehicle, a person's CDL license may still be suspended for certain types of moving violations.
Examples of violations committed in a commercial motor vehicle include Florida Statute Section 322.62(11), for Driving Under the Influence a Commercial Motor Vehicle when the person has any alcohol in his/her body.
This article was last updated on Friday, March 23, 2018.
From left to right: Ari Goldberg, Lawrence Meltzer, Steven Bell, Kristie Cohen, Matthew Shafran
West Palm Beach, FL 33401 (561) 557-8686
330 Clemantis St Suite 113
West Palm Beach, FL 33401 (561) 500-5000
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (954) 745-7457