Mandatory School Requirements
The mandatory school requirements apply if the driver has a valid Florida driver's license and is convicted of any of the offenses listed in Florida Statute § 322.0261 or in another state as explained in sections 322.24 and 322.44.
If the mandatory school requirement is triggered, then the driver will be required to attend a basic driver improvement course. Driving offenses that trigger the mandatory school requirement include:
- Failure to stop for a school bus;
- Failure to obey a steady red light;
- Failure to obey a traffic control signal;
- Reckless driving;
- Racing on the highway; or
- Being a spectator of racing on the highway.
After the mandatory school requirement is triggered, the driver has 90 days from the citation date to complete the required school or the driving privilege will be canceled. The driver's license will remain canceled until the school requirement is completed.
Traffic Ticket Attorneys in Florida
If you have questions about the consequences of paying a civil traffic infraction, contact an experienced traffic ticket attorney at Meltzer & Bell, P.A. to discuss your case. Sometimes paying the ticket is the most expensive and burdensome way to resolve the case.
By hiring an attorney you can fight for an outright dismissal, a reduction to a less serious charge or a withhold of adjudication, so you are not convicted and do not receive points on your license, you might save yourself money in the short or long term.
From our office in Fort Lauderdale, we represent clients on traffic tickets in Broward County at the Central Courthouse in Fort Lauderdale, FL, County Civil South Regional Courthouse in Hollywood, the County Civil North Regional Courthouse in Deerfield Beach, and County Civil West Regional Courthouse in Plantation, FL.
From our office in West Palm Beach, FL, we represent clients throughout Palm Beach County at the Main Courthouse in West Palm Beach, the West County Courthouse in Belle Glade, the North County Courthouse in Palm Beach Gardens, and the South County Courthouse in Delray Beach.
Our attorneys also represent clients in Coral Gables, Hialeah, Miami Beach and Miami in Miami-Dade County, in Hobe Sound and the Village of Indiantown in Martin County, in Fort Pierce and Port St. Lucie in St. Lucie County, FL.
Call (561) 500-5000 today.
Three Crashes in Three Years Law
If a driver is convicted of, or enters a no contest plea, to a third traffic offense that caused a crash within 36 months, the driver must complete a Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) approved driver improvement course that includes behind-the-wheel training and an assessment of the ability to drive safely.
The driver must:
- complete 12 hours of the 3-in-3 Crash Course or an approved Advanced Driver Improvement course (ADI);
- receive 4 hours of behind-the-wheel training from a Florida licensed commercial driving school (CDS);
- pass the extended driving exam with a driver license examiner or tax collector licensing agent.
Failure to complete these requirements within 90 days will result in a license cancellation.
This article was last updated on Friday, March 23, 2018.
From left to right: Ari Goldberg, Lawrence Meltzer, Steven Bell, Kristie Cohen, Matthew Shafran
West Palm Beach, FL 33401 (561) 557-8686
330 Clemantis St Suite 113
West Palm Beach, FL 33401 (561) 500-5000
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (954) 745-7457