Parking in a Handicapped Space
The state of Florida has special provisions for disabled drivers, so they aren’t forced to walk long distances to their destinations. Handicapped persons who qualify can receive a disability placard or license plate and park in specially designated handicapped spots. These spots are marked by a blue symbol of a figure in a wheelchair to separate them from standard parking.
Deliberately or accidentally parking in a handicapped spot when you aren’t qualified is illegal in Florida. Doing so will result in a traffic ticket that includes an expensive fine that could be up to $500 depending on the circumstances. If you or someone you know has been ticketed for parking in a handicapped spot, then it’s imperative you seek experienced legal counsel.
West Palm Beach Attorney for Parking in a Handicapped Parking in FL
Florida has very strict laws protecting handicapped spots for disabled drivers. So, violating this by parking in one can lead to a very expensive fine. Thankfully you don’t have to admit guilt and pay the fine. You can instead hire experienced legal counsel with Meltzer & Bell, P.A. and fight your ticket as well as the fine in court.
Get in touch with Meltzer & Bell, P.A. for skilled and efficient representation. We will provide you with all the facts and legal options you have before making any sudden steps. Call us now at (561) 500-5000 to set up your first consultation free of charge. Meltzer & Bell, P.A. accepts clients throughout the greater Palm Beach County area including West Palm Beach, Boca Raton, Boynton Beach and Jupiter.
Overview of Parking in a Handicapped Space in FL
- How Do I Get a Handicapped Parking Permit or License in FL?
- How Much is a Ticket for Parking in Handicapped Space in Florida?
- What Happens If I Lie to Obtain a Parking Permit?
- Additional Resources
How Do I Get a Handicapped Parking Permit or License in Florida?
Florida offers disabled drivers a chance to apply for a handicapped permit or license so they can spot in special designated parking. You can apply to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles or its authorized agents for a disabled parking permit for a period of up to four years. It also includes temporary parking permits for people who have temporary mobility issues for up to 6 months.
Florida Statutes Section 320.0848 has a long list of medical and physical conditions that would warrant a handicapped parking permit. Some of these conditions include:
- Permanent use of a wheelchair
- Legally blind
- Inability to walk without medical device assistance. This device cannot restore walking ability to the point of not being severely limited any longer.
- Suffering from certain lung diseases
- Use of portable oxygen
- Walking limitations from orthopedic, arthritic or neurological conditions
- Level III or IV cardiac restrictions
How Much is the Fine for Parking in a Handicapped Space in Florida?
The state of Florida has implemented harsh penalties to deter people from parking in handicapped spaces. Florida Statute Section 318.18 states that the minimum fine for parking in a handicapped spot is $100. However, this is only the minimum and in most cases the judge will enhance the fine amount past $100.
In the majority of handicapping parking violation cases, the fine is set at $250 as a nonmoving violation. The court does hold the power though to impose a civil penalty of up to $500 according to Florida Statutes 318.14(5).
What Happens If I Lie to Get a Handicapped Parking Permit in Florida?
Just as Florida has laws protecting handicapped spaces, there is also legislation that punishes people who lie to obtain handicapped parking permits. Purposely submitting deceptive or false information to obtain a handicapped parking permit is a first-degree misdemeanor. The maximum penalties for a first-degree misdemeanor include:
- Up to one year in jail; and
- A fine not to exceed $1,000
Using a disabled parking placard while not transporting the disabled person it’s registered under is also a crime. Unauthorized or fraudulent use of a handicapped parking permit in Florida is a second-degree misdemeanor which can result in:
- Up to 6 months in jail; and
- A fine not to exceed $1,000
Application for Disabled Parking Permit – Visit the official website for the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to learn more about how to apply for a handicapped parking permit or license. Access the document to see what is required, where you must fill in information and where to file your application.
Handicapped Parking Laws in Florida – Visit the official website for Florida’s Statutes to read their section on disabled parking permits. Access the site to learn more about what is required to obtain a permit, what the permit does and what happens if you park in a handicapped zone.
Traffic Ticket Attorney for Handicapped Parking Violations in Palm Beach County, FL
If you or someone you know has been ticketed for parking in a handicapped space, then it’s important you hire an experienced traffic ticket attorney. Meltzer & Bell, P.A. is a group of reputable traffic defense lawyers with years of both prosecutorial and defense practice. We want to utilize our knowledge to fight your traffic ticket.
Call us now at (561) 500-5000 and we will set up your first consultation free of charge. During your appointment we will sit with you and discuss your options in detail. Meltzer & Bell, P.A. accepts clients throughout the greater Palm Beach County area including St. Lucie County, Miami-Dade County, Broward County and Martin County.