Seat Belt Violations
Wearing your seat belt can be the difference between a serious injury or some minor cuts and bruises. It’s been proven that seat belts save lives according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), it was discovered that seat belt usage had saved close to 15,000 lives alone in 2017. Since seat belts keep us safe the state of Florida has passed laws that require Floridians to wear a seat belt or face a nonmoving violation.
Law enforcement are now authorized to pull over and ticket any person they spot driving without a seat belt. If you’re cited, you will be required to pay an expensive ticket and could be forced to put points on your license or complete a type of driver’s school. However, it’s important to understand you don’t have to admit guilt and pay your ticket. You can contest your seat belt violation with experienced legal representation, so you don’t have to pay any fines or have any added points to your license.
Traffic Ticket Lawyer for Seat Belt Violations in West Palm Beach, FL
If you are in need of legal counsel, then we highly suggest you get in contact with Meltzer & Bell, P.A.. Our traffic defense attorneys have been practicing for years and will do whatever possible to resolve your traffic ticket. With our 20 years of collective experience, our firm can help you avoid paying the expensive ticket fines for your citation.
You can get in contact with us now at (561) 500-5000 and we will set up your first consultation free. Meltzer & Bell, P.A. will examine your ticket and review your legal options with you. Meltzer & Bell, P.A. accepts clients throughout the greater West Palm Beach and Palm Beach County area including Boca Raton, Wellington and Jupiter.
Overview of Seat Belt Tickets in FL
- Florida’s New “Click It or Ticket” Laws Passed in 2009
- How Much Is a Seat Belt Ticket in Florida?
- How Many Points Will You Get for a Seat Beat Citation?
- Can I Get a Ticket for Not Wearing a Ticket in the Back Seat?
- Additional Resources
Florida’s New “Click It or Ticket” Laws Passed in 2009
The state of Florida requires front seat passengers to wear their seat belts regardless of their age or whether their vehicle has an airbag. That means you can be ticketed for not wearing a seat belt if you are 18 and over and in the front seat. Children are required to wear a seat belt and from the ages 6 to 17 years old must be belted regardless of if they are in the front or back seat. The driver can be ticketed multiple times if minors in the car aren’t wearing seat belts.
In 2009, the Governor of Florida signed tougher seat belt laws so law enforcement could have more reason to pull people over who aren’t belted. The new law took into effect on June 30, 2009 and was named after Dori Slosberg, the 14-year-old daughter of former Boca Raton state representative who died in a car crash in 1996. The law establishes that a police officer can pull you over for not wearing your seat belt if you are in the front seat. That means police officers can simply glance at you, spy you’re not wearing a seat belt and immediately give you a citation afterwards without hesitation.
How Much is a Seat Belt Ticket in Florida?
If you are admit guilt to not wearing your seat belt, you will be required to pay a fine by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). The statewide fine for a seatbelt violation is only $35. However, most counties include additional fines if you are convicted for not wearing your seat belt. These fines depend on the county’s local ordinance laws.
In Palm Beach County the additional ticket cost is $116. Meanwhile in Broward County it’s $115 and in Miami-Dade County the fine for a seat belt ticket is $114. You must pay these tickets if you want to continue driving. DHSMV will revoke your license temporarily until you have paid all your tickets in full. There are some exemptions to this, however. If you had a doctor’s note, drove a trash truck, deliver newspapers or are in the back of a pickup truck, then you will not be required to pay the ticket price.
How Many Points Will You Get for Not Wearing Your Seat Belt?
Most people understand that you must pay a fine if you are ticketed for not wearing your seat belt. However, many don’t know that you will also have points added to your license if you are cited for not wearing your seat belt. In Florida, there is something known as a Traffic Points System. This is how DHSMV determines if a person is a high-risk driver and should have their license temporarily suspended or not.
Having a certain number of points on your license will lead to an automatic license suspension. So, collecting points on your license is not desired in anyway. If you admit guilt to your seat belt violation, you will have three points added to your license. If you had minors in the car without their seat belts, then additional points will be added for each minor. Having 12 points within a 12-month period will result in an immediate six-month suspension.
Can I Get a Ticket for Not Wearing My Seat Belt in the Back Seat?
Currently, the state of Florida only requires adults over the age of 18 to wear their seat belt if they are the driver or front seat passenger. If you are in the back seat, then you are not legally required to wear a seat belt. It’s important to understand that this doesn’t apply to children. Minors from the ages of 6 to 17 must wear a seat belt if they are in the front or back seat.
The idea that the back seat is somehow less dangerous is false. An unrestrained passenger in the back seat can be easily flung into the seat or windshield in front of them in the event of an accident. NHTSA states that unbelted passengers face an increased risk of injury or death if they are caught in an accident by 40 percent.
Florida’s Seat Belt Laws – Visit the official website for the Florida Statutes to read more about their safety belt section. Access the site to learn exceptions to Florida’s seat belt laws, definitions for certain terms and other related traffic violations.
Buckle Up, It’s the Law! | DHSMV – Visit the official website for the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to read more about safety belts. Access the site to learn the importance of seat belts, ticket amounts for not wearing one and statistics for seat belt related fatalities by county in Florida.
Seat Belt Ticket Attorney in Palm Beach County, Florida
Have you been ticketed recently for not wearing your seat belt? Don’t admit guilt and accept the consequences without a fight. Call the experienced traffic attorneys at Meltzer & Bell, P.A. to fight your traffic ticket. We have years of traffic defense practice we can use for your case.
Call us now at (561) 500-5000 and we will schedule your first consultation free. Meltzer & Bell, P.A. accepts clients throughout the greater Palm Beach County area and surrounding areas including Broward County, St. Lucie County, Martin County and Miami-Dade County.