Speeding 30 MPH and Over
If you have received a traffic ticket for speeding thirty miles per hour above the posted speed limit, then contact an experienced Florida traffic ticket attorney as soon as possible. We can help you fight the citation and protect your driving record. A conviction is likely to cause a substantial increase in your insurance premiums for years to come.
The fines for speeding more than 30 mph over the speed limit can be $400 or more. Any speeding ticket for going 30 mph above the posted speed limit under FS 316.183(2), FS 316.187, or FS 316.189 is especially serious because the infraction requires a mandatory hearing in front of a county court judge under F.S. 318.19(5).
A person cited for a second or subsequent conviction of exceeding the limit by 30 mph and above within a 12 month period is required to appear for a mandatory civil infraction hearing and must pay a fine that is double the amount paid for the first violation.
In other words, just paying the ticket or electing to attend traffic school to avoid the points is not an option. In fact, a conviction comes with four (4) points on your driving record and a potential license suspension.
If the speeding occurred in a school zone or construction zone, then your fines will automatically be doubled, and the court is more likely to impose enhanced penalties such as a license suspension or completing a driver improvement school.
Attorney for Speeding 30 MPH Over in Florida
An experienced traffic ticket attorney can help you during the mandatory hearing whether your speeding ticket occurred after pacing, aircraft speed detection, VASCAR, radar speed detection, or laser detectors.
Defenses to this serious traffic infraction might involve showing that you were not going as fast as the officer claims, that you had an emergency situation, the radar or laser detection unit picked up another vehicle (but not your vehicle), or the speed measuring device was not accurate or reliable.
If a necessary witness fails to appear at the hearing, we can move to dismiss the case. If the officer who issued the citation does appear, then our attorneys can negotiate with the officer to see if a reduction is possible before the hearing. At the hearing, we can fight for an outright dismissal. If a conviction does occur, we can argue to minimize the penalties imposed by the court.
If you were given a speeding ticket for driving thirty (30) miles or fifty (50) miles or more over the speed limit, then you need an experienced traffic ticket attorney to represent you at the mandatory hearing. When appropriate, your attorney can help you challenge the officer's determination your speed, the speed measuring device used in your case, and the traffic stop itself.
If you miss the mandatory hearing on the traffic infraction and do not appear in court, then the court will suspend your driver's license. Don't face the judge in traffic court alone. Let us put our experience to work for you.
From our offices in Fort Lauderdale and West Palm Beach, Florida, we represent clients for high-speed traffic citations Statewide. Both of our offices serve both large and small cities throughout Florida. Many of our cases come from Broward County, Miami-Dade County, and Palm Beach County, FL, just to name a few.
Call (561) 500-5000 today.
Penalties for a Speeding Ticket 50 MPH Over the Speed Limit
If Section 316.1926(2), Florida Statute, is cited in the traffic infraction, a person who exceeds the speed limit in excess of 50 mph or more in violation of FS 316.183(2), FS 316.187, or FS 316.189 may be required to pay a civil penalty of more than $1,100.00 if conviction of the infraction.
A second violation of FS 316.1926(2) for speeding 50 mph or more over the speed limit requires a mandatory court appearance. A conviction for this offense comes with a fine of up to $2,600, plus local and state fees, and a revocation of the person’s driver license for one year.
A person cited for a third violation of FS 316.1926(2) for speeding 50 mph or more over the speed limit commits a felony of the third degree which requires the court to impose a fine of $5,000.00 and revoke the person’s driver license for ten (10) years.
This article was last updated on Friday, March 23, 2018.
From left to right: Ari Goldberg, Lawrence Meltzer, Steven Bell, Kristie Cohen, Matthew Shafran
West Palm Beach, FL 33401 (561) 557-8686
330 Clemantis St Suite 113
West Palm Beach, FL 33401 (561) 500-5000
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (954) 745-7457