Speeding 50 MPH Over
If you receive a speeding ticket for driving fifty (50) miles over the speed limit, then you need an experienced traffic ticket attorney to represent you in court. You cannot simply pay the ticket because the infraction requires a mandatory hearing in front of a county court judge.
If you were cited for a speeding ticket for going 50 mph over the limit, the infraction is a noncriminal offense, but it comes with especially harsh penalties. First, if you are convicted, you will receive four (4) points on your driver's license. If you fail to appear in court, the court can issue a D6 to suspend your driver's license.
Our Florida traffic court attorneys represent clients charges under Section 316.1926(2), FS, which applies to a person who exceeds the speed limit in excess of 50 mph for more in violation of one of the following infractions:
- FS 316.183(2) (posted speeds);
- FS 316.187 (state speed zones); or
- FS 316.189 (municipal and county speeds).
Attorney for Speeding Fifty Miles Over in Florida
If you were given a speeding ticket for driving fifty (50) miles over the posted speed limit, then you need an experienced traffic ticket attorney to represent you at the mandatory hearing.
When appropriate, your attorney can help you challenge the officer’s determination your speed, the speed measuring device used in your case and the traffic stop itself. If you miss the mandatory hearing and do not appear in court, then the court will suspend your driver's license.
From our offices in Fort Lauderdale and West Palm Beach, Florida, we represent clients for high-speed traffic citations Statewide. Both of our offices serve both large and small cities throughout Florida.
Many of our cases come from Broward County, Miami-Dade County, and Palm Beach County, FL, just to name a few. Call (561) 500-5000 today.
Penalties for Speeding over 50 MPH in Florida
Under Florida Statute §316.1926, a person who exceeds the speed limit in excess of 50 MPH or more will be cited for a moving violation, which is punishable under Florida Statute § 318.14 by a fine of up to $1,000, plus any other surcharges and fees and a possible driver's license suspension.
A second conviction for the same offense means that the penalty will be raised to $2,500 and you will suffer a one-year license revocation.
A third conviction for driving fifty miles above the posted speed limit will result in a $5,000 penalty, the loss of your driver's license for ten years and a third-degree felony conviction on your criminal record.
This article was last updated on Friday, March 23, 2018.
From left to right: Ari Goldberg, Lawrence Meltzer, Steven Bell, Kristie Cohen, Matthew Shafran
West Palm Beach, FL 33401 (561) 557-8686
330 Clemantis St Suite 113
West Palm Beach, FL 33401 (561) 500-5000
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (954) 745-7457